Theatre

Hetty Feather Live

Kids Week 2015 saw me follow my daughter’s instructions in deciding what to see, although when getting home I noticed many friends had chosen to snap up tickets for Hetty Feather Live, and I was a little intrigued as to what we were missing.

Hetty Feather Live is based on Jacqueline Wilson’s trilogy about a Victoria Foundling called Hetty Feathers. Adapted for stage to critical acclaim, CBBC’s 6 part TV series of Hetty Feather’s has just concluded making a ticket for the stage production a hot ticket for children aged 7+.
Hetty Feather Live

Set in London in 1876, the story itself starts at the Foundling Hospital – Hetty Feather, the heroine, is abandoned as a baby at the hospital, but gets fostered until age 5 by her kind-hearted foster parents. who live in a big house with other foundlings and the couple’s own children.

When a circus moves into town, Hetty sneaks off to see the show. Hetty is mesmerized by what she sees but has to soon return to the Foundling Hospital to begin her schooling. She misses her friends, especially Jem who has promised to marry her when she comes of age, but Hetty now has the chance to find her real mother and a true family of her own. 
Hetty Feather Live
The stage adaptation of Hetty Feather has already had great success, opening at the Rose Theatre, Kingston Upon Thames in April 2014, following a UK tour it has had a successful West End run at the Vaudeville Theatre where it was seen by over 22,000 people in just four weeks.

 And the good news is Hetty Feather is starting its tour again, beginning this Friday at Bristol Old Vic, the show will be in London over the summer and in Cardiff next year.

The tour dates are below, but if you’re hoping to see the show in London, pop back at for the review next Saturday and a very special competition!
Friday 17th – Sunday 19th July: Bristol Old Vic
Tuesday 21st – Saturday 25th July: Windsor Theatre Royal
Tuesday 28th July – Sunday 2nd August: Brighton Theatre Royal
Thursday 6th August – Sunday 6th September 2015: Duke of York’s Theatre London
Wednesday 16th- Sunday 20th September: Exeter Northcott Theatre
Tuesday 22st – Sunday 27th September: Swindon Wyvern
Tuesday 29th September-Saturday 3rd October: Norwich Theatre Royal
Thursday 8th – Sunday 11th October: Newcastle Theatre Royal
Tuesday 13th – Saturday 17th October: Bromley Churchill
Friday 23rd – Sunday 25th October: Southend Cliffs Pavillion
Tuesday 27th– Saturday 31st October: West Yorkshire Playhouse, Leeds
Tuesday 3rd – Saturday 7th November: Liverpool Playhouse
Wednesday 11th – Sunday 15th November: Theatre Royal Plymouth
18th – 22nd November: Malvern Festival Theatre
2nd- 6th December: North Finchley Arts Depot
Tuesday 8th December – Sunday 10th January 2016: Lowry Quays
3rd – 7th February: Nottingham Theatre Royal
24th-28th February: Rose Theatre, Kingston
4th – 6th March: Southampton Mayflower
23rd – 27th March: Orchard Theatre, Dartford
30th March – Sunday 3 April 2016: Cardiff New Theatre

Disclosure: We have received tickets for the purposes of writing about the production. All views and opinions contained are our own.

Previous Story
Next Story

You Might Also Like

2 Comments

  • Reply
    Polka Dot Family
    July 11, 2015 at 15:42

    Roo has been watching the Hetty Feather series on CITV and I know she would love this show – I’ll have to see if I can pick up tickets for us to go.
    Polka Dot Family recently posted…Changing Faces Week Twenty-Eight {2015}My Profile

    • Reply
      Debbie
      August 13, 2015 at 00:38

      CM’s added obsession with the circus definitely added to the attraction. I bet Roo would be mesmerised!

    Leave a Reply

    CommentLuv badge

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.